David Garrett

Rock Symphonies

Click here to order.

Violinist David Garrett is ready to conquer new terrain with his groundbreaking Rock Symphonies Album.
Rock Symphonies brings together two of this German-born violinist’s two great loves: classical music and the rock music of his generation.
Recorded with the City of Prague Orchestra, is a love letter to his favorite bands, like Nirvana (“Smells Like Teen Spirit”), Guns N’ Roses (“November Rain” as well as their cover of Paul McCartney’s “Live and Let Die”), Aerosmith (“Walk This Way”), U2 (“Vertigo”), Metallica (“Master of Puppets”), and Led Zeppelin (“Kashmir”). “I’m very big fan of 80s rock, of power ballads and that kind of stuff,” David says. “And I think adding an orchestra elevates rock to a whole different level.” For David Garrett, whose idols go from Jimi Hendrix and Jimmy Page to his former teachers Itzhak Perlman and Ida Haendel, there shouldn’t be any hierarchy between genres. “Choosing repertoire is very instinctive,” David observes. “For this project, it was quite easy. We had a theme—rock—and we chose things with a very strong rhythmical vibe, whether it was Beethoven or Metallica. The concept of “Rock Symphonies” has been on my mind for a very long time. I’ve always thought that there was a very strong connection between classical and rock; there’s a very strong sense of rhythm and a very strong sense of precision in both.”


Disc 1:

1. Smells like Teen Spirit
2. November Rain
3. The 5th
4. Walk this Way
5. Live and let Die
6. Vivaldi vs. Vertigo
7. Master of Puppets
8. 80th Anthem
9. Toccata
10. Asturias
11. Kashmir
12. Rock Symphonies
13. Peer Gynt
14. Mission Impossible
15. Rocking all over the World

Disc 2 DVD:

1. Kashmir
2. Serenade
3. Smells like Teen Spirit
4. Mission Impossible
5. Walk this Way
6. Smooth Criminal
7. I’ll stand by you
8. Peer Gynt
9. Asturias
10. Child’s Anthem
11. Zorba’s Dance
12. Hey Jude