David Garrett


The Great New Album ‘Music’ is Out Today in the US!

The Great New Album ‘Music’ is Out Today in the US!

When David Garrett wanted a title for his new album, he came straight to the point and called it Music. A former child prodigy of the classical world who signed to Deutsche Grammophon when he was only 13, he now provokes Garrett-mania among hordes of international fans with his spectacular fusions of rock and pop with symphonic or baroque traditions. To him, it’s all music and all equally valid.

“I never stopped playing classical music,” he points out. “But when you become really accomplished on the violin, you can literally do anything. It’s just a matter of what you really want to do with music.”

The disc pulls together an intoxicating mix of classic rock, classic pop and classic classical, all blended together within the violinist’s ever-expanding universe. “I try to see classical music in a new perspective,” he explains, while “on the other hand I want to integrate elements of classical music into pop, yet leave its original energy intact.”

There’s certainly no lack of energy in his cacophonous reincarnation of Khatchaturian’s Sabre Dance, a rocked-up rampage which owes more to the Sex Pistols than to the Leningrad Philharmonic. In Garrett-world, nothing is sacred. He boldly plugs into the essence of Ludwig van Beethoven’s genius by taking two movements from the composer’s Ninth Symphony and subjecting them to the full Garrett treatment. He delivers the Scherzo as an exhilarating rhythmic gallop, supercharged with crashing percussion, howling guitars and power-fiddle, while the famous Ode to Joy is modified with a whirling Celtic jig on violin as the European Community Choir blasts out the famous tune.

But perhaps even more audacious is Garrett’s wholesale reworking of Chopin’s Nocturne. Picking a composer who is recognised as one of history’s most perfect exemplars of the art of the piano and who never composed a note for the violin might sound, on the face of it, a trifle foolhardy. A violin is never going to resemble a piano, but Garrett solves the problem by using the violin to distill the melancholy, introspective spirit of the piece, while adding a backdrop of electronic percussion and David Foster’s limpid keyboard.


David will tour the United States in January and March 2014!

PBS broadcasts the new special ‘Music – Live in Concert’ in the upcoming weeks, here you can watch their Video

Watch some of David’s recent appearances in the US!

Watch again the live-chat with David on Livestream July 26, 2013
Exclusive Performance in New York for ConcertBlogger Music Magazine

Photo-Shooting before the Private Performance
Exclusive photos from the showcase – ©David Medeiros/ConcertBlogger

Purchase the album on Amazon
Purchase the album at Barnes & Noble
Purchase the album on iTunes

01 Viva la Vida
02 Cry Me a River David Garrett
03 Beethoven Scherzo
04 Human Nature
05 Tico Tico (feat. Arturo Sandoval)
06 Chopin Nocturne (feat. David Foster)
07 Clementi Sonatina
08 Sandstorm
09 Music
10 Sabre Dance
11 Bach Double Harpsichord Concerto In C Major
12 We Will Rock You
13 Celtic Rondo
14 Ode To Joy (feat. The European Community Choir)
15 Bring Me To Life (feat. Syd Duran)